How I Got BPI Building Analyst Training and Testing for Free

BPI, Building Performance Institute, is an professional credentialing organization that set standards for residential building energy efficiency and retrofit work.  Learn more about BPI here.  I don’t want to get into what BPI is and explain all that they do, but I do want to let you know how I was able to receive free training and possibly guide you to do the same.

I’m not sure about what similar programs are offered in your state, but in the state of Maryland there is the Maryland Energy Sector Partnership (MESP) which is led by the Governor’s Workforce Investment Board.  The Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR) received a $5.8 million Green Job Training grant from the U.S. Department of Labor to train workers in the skills required in emerging industries including energy efficiency and renewable energy.

I was unaware of this program until I was handed a brochure that read “Green Job Training at NO COST.”  So I went to the website on the pamphlet, found the closest OneStop Career Center, researched Maryland’s Workforce Exchange web site, sent email’s to the appropriate contact, and submitted the necessary paperwork.  The requirements were that I had to be unemployed, have received at least a high school diploma or an equivalent, and live in the state of Maryland to be eligible.  Within 10 days of submitting all necessary forms, I landed a Career Counselor, and she worked with me to acquire a voucher for training courses with EverBlue Training Institute.  Before I was assigned a counselor, though, I was required to attend seminars about developing, recognizing, and implementing transferrable skills and about resume building and writing.  It was a relatively quick and painless process and I hardly had to do a thing.

It’s amazing what your government can do for you, if you just take a look.

One thought on “How I Got BPI Building Analyst Training and Testing for Free

  1. Pingback: Officially BPI Certified! | Bryan's Blend

Leave a Reply

