Run, run, run for your life…

This morning I woke around 7am and decided I wanted to go out for a run. It has been a little over a week since I ran, which is a good excuse to get me out there. Again, I started my run at Rockburn Branch Park, but once I hit the trail, I heard and felt a couple rain drops come down from the greyish sky. It was no matter because I wanted to run. I was ready–suited up with my Asics, running shorts and shirt, and cap. The rain didn’t come down until I was about an hour into the run. By that point I was already wet from the sweat and humidity that the cool air and rain droplets were refreshing.

When I run I mix up the speeds depending on the terrain. Sometimes I will run up a hill because I don’t want to get stuck or slow down from my rhythm. Other times I will slow down as I hit a hill so that I don’t waste my energy or risk tripping and falling over roots and rocks. There is no rhyme or reason to my speeds, but I do what feels right and today I felt like I was driving every step in a mindful way. I had no distractions, no worries, nor any judgement. I ran for me today. I pushed harder than I thought was possible, and I turned out fine! Sure I was breathing heavy, sweatnig profusely, and semi-fatigued toward the end of my run, but I felt great being outside, listening to wildlife and reaching the edge of my physical abilities. I enjoy experiencing this type of stress, this type of activity, because I prove to myself that I CAN DO IT. And when the time comes for me to act there will be no reason for me to back down.

I won’t run everyday. There are other activities I do that I enjoy that supplement my workout. But it feels great to be in the woods, to smell the soil and vegetation, to breathe the fresh air, to be in the elements and connect with the earth I came from.

Run, run, run for your life…

Leave a Reply

