How I Integrate Minimalism in My Life

After reading several blogs that talk about minimalism I was inspired to bring the principles of living a meaningful life and living with less and simplicity into my life. Making conscious decisions about how I conduct my behavior, how I carry out my day, and determining what are my daily goals have created a new sense of what it means to interact with others and, most importantly, to interact with myself.  Be gentle with yourself.  These four words guide me throughout my day and help me to stay calm, while at the same time, help me become a stronger person and further endure the mental strains of daily life.  I feel that if one is mindful of their thoughts and habits, then that individual obtains a sense of control over themselves in any situation that they may encounter.  This idea, I believe, is what drives people to do good things and to act accordingly parallel to their beliefs.  This is what I think minimalism can bring.  This is what I think are some ingredients to living a meaningful life.

At this point in my life I feel like I am only at the beginning and there is a lot of work ahead of me.  Somehow I became nearly a quarter-century old and I found myself piecing the chunks and bits I have learned over the years and finally accepted how to live and be with-my-self.  Minimalism brings many opportunities because you end up lessening the amount of junk in your life and realizing that you want to add goodness in your life.  No matter what that junk was and what that goodness ends up being this procedure of change, I believe, manifests understanding and control of your mind and body.  Distractions are everywhere and it seems like it gets easier and easier for us to be taken away from ourselves.  How easily is it for our train of thought to become disturbed and for us to lose attention?  I mean, don’t get me wrong, I have been known to space out every now and then, but, when it really matters are you able to focus?

These are types of questions that run in my mind and are questions I ask myself.  The principles of Minimalism lead me to think less about crap and do more of the good-shit; for me that means running, climbing, stretching, breathing, reading, learning, walking, and, right now, writing.  For me, Minimalism is about being present in what you do and not needing much to do it.  It also reminds me that I am the only person who can give my self a truly meaningful and happy life.  Thank you for reading and I wish you, too, a happy and meaningful life.

Leave a Reply

