I regret to inform you that…

So they chose another candidate.  I was hopeful about the idea of working on campus and being more involved with UMBC.  It might not be a bad thing that I didn’t get the job.  It means I get a chance to find another job or spend more time studying.  I’m glad that he added this line in the email so I don’t feel like it was a waste of time, “I regret to inform you that we have selected another candidate to fill this graduate student worker position.  Please know that I was impressed by your credentials and hope you will continue to seek opportunities for involvement on campus.”

It was nice to know that I was qualified for the position, but I have a feeling that this position was suited better for someone else.  I don’t feel bitter at the fact that I wasn’t chosen, but I am a little disappointed that I put in a good amount of effort with little reward.  I say little because I did gain a contact at the University–so it’s not a total loss.

So a word of encouragement to fellow job seekers (and to myself):  Keep on striving for more.  The hard work WILL pay off.  All the effort put forth now only builds up your skills and resilience to settling for less.

Leave a Reply

